WHY DO YOU NEED A DEGREE? WHY I WENT TO SCHOOL?

Well, what am I gonna answer you now!

I don’t even know if this is gonna make sense (but who cares? Am the boss here. So I can say whatever I want, however I want whether I make sense or not).

For one, I know I went to school not to get a degree — obviously I have no use for that overrated piece of paper.

Most people (especially parents and those young people who are scared to death about money and life) would say ‘you go to school so that you have something to fall back on’ if other things don’t work. “Fall back on”?…I don’t wanna fall back; I would rather fall forward!

Except you have a specific need or use for that piece of paper, you don’t need a degree. You don’t need it to succeed in life. The use most people have had so far for their degree after graduation is to decorate the wall at home or office. Degree – a piece of paper that says you went to a particular place and spent a particular number of years reading a particular subject. Ok.

A person can be very educated without going through the traditional school system. For me personally, I think I went to school because everyone I knew was going to school. My family sent me to school early (at 7 or so) when I could have had no resistance. You are beat up if you resisted going to school. And in fact we laughed at those kids who were not willing to go to school and whose parents always had to beat them up.

I am glad though that I attended school. I had much fun in school. And I learnt to read and write. Anyone who can’t read and write is BLIND. And great is that blindness! I will advice kids to make sure to go to school – it’s a good experience; you meet great friends too who could be really helpful when you want to run for political office. And that includes meeting the spouse of your life…OK.

However while I was learning in high school, I knew I would never have the need to use my certificate or degree to search for a job. And that’s one of the major reasons I never really cared much about grades as long as I passed my exams – that’s beside the point that I actually find reading school books boring.. I understood early enough that academic grades were never really a measure of my intelligence. I am smart. I am very smart. U don’t believe me? How would I know how to spell intelligence correctly if I wasn’t smart?
Successful entrepreneurship had always been my dream. Again, you see? How would I know what my dream was if I wasn’t smart. (What’s being smart gotto do with what I am writing now? I haven’t figured that out yet…)

When I think of making money or more money, I think of something, an enterprise to begin; a product or service to offer. I look for something to expand.
That’s who I am. That’s how I think. That’s how smart I am. (Pls., somebody tell my alter ego to stop talking about being smart!!)

I wish people who want a job “good luck.” I don’t need a job. And I don’t need good luck. Good luck is for people who can’t control and predict life – their life. If I cannot predict my life then I am not in control of my life. And I want to be in control. I was created to be in control. I saw that in Genesis. We believe that God created man, and in Genesis it is written that man should “be in charge,” that is, in control. Control is power. And I lose that power once I go under an employer.

Aside control I don’t think I want to live a life that is based on “thinking small.” Call it ‘To cut your coat according to your size.’ When we were kids some parents bought their kids oversized clothes and shoes so that they could ‘grow into’ it and wear it for a very long time. That’s actually a wise thing. Because if you love a particular shoe or clothe you should be able to wear it for a very long time if you want to. That’s love and appreciation.

I don’t want to cut my coat according to my size (one-size-fits-all kinda way of life). Especially as it concerns life. I want to live a “tailor-made’ life with scalability. I want to think BIG and live large. Some people are comfortable living small and not make an impact in life. Are you like that? Not me.

Some people are comfortable surviving in a job even when it is clearly obvious that it is inadequate. I can’t be that person. Others would take sh*t from unreasonable bosses just to keep a job. I can’t be that person.
In life everyone is at liberty to make their choices. If you choose a degree for a job – good luck. If you choose a job over entrepreneurial freedom – good luck to you.

However, I still believe that every person can think BIG. You are already thinking; why not just make your thinking big at once? A job is a nice thing though – someone is got to work it, but you should consider – is that job or life you are heading for going to make you happy? Will it help solve your financial challenges?

People work not because they love their jobs or bosses. In fact most people hate their job and think their boss is the devil’s cousin. But they work because they need money to take care of life. If they stop working the little money stops showing up. They offer their services to their employer in exchange for money to run their life and family and needs. In other words, they do ‘something’ for their employer so that the employer can take care of them even though that no matter how nice the employer is, whatever s/he can do for you is never enough. And soon you are looking for another job or a raise – God help you if you don’t get FIRED asking for it.

That’s life. Nothing is free. You must exchange something for something. Why not exchange your services then for freedom? Working for yourself and keeping and expanding your own profits to suit your needs and something to live behind for your kids?
The Bible accounts that a godly man leaves an inheritance for his kids. Now your kids can’t inherit your job – no matter how good you are at it. They can inherit your businesses.

Actually most people would love to start their own businesses. That’s a fact. If only they would just stop dreaming and start doing. Some of them think they are inexperienced, not connected, and lack the money to begin with. These excuses have no bases. A mirage.

People who have started successful enterprises know that actually no one entrepreneur knew what he was doing when getting started. They just throw themselves in the ring and start fighting until they win. It is the determination to stay in the fight and learn the process. You don’t need a connection in business before you start. You build your connection – network, as you go along. Yeah, you may need some startup capital; but just enough with the little you think you have now. Robert Kiyosaki (author of Rich Dad, Poor Dad) says that the most important job of an entrepreneur is to raise funds. You don’t need your own money to start. You need to know how to get money from other people to start your business.

They may be your family and friends and some investors, but learn to ask and receive from other people to do what you dream to do. You may just say to them “Hi, I am smart. I want to change the world. Will you give me a million dollars?” As simple as that. What happens if they think you are stupid and say “No”? Find another person. Keep your dream and start learning why people say yes or no when you start asking them for money and help – but don’t stop.

So be a seeker of knowledge. Search out information to aid your startup. You already have all the resources to begin on your dream. Success begins with learning. So learn as you go along.

Never limit yourself in your thinking if you really dream to accomplish something. Lose your shyness. I have realised that some people are very shy and it silently affects whatever they do or want to do. They reason too much of what others would or might say/think that it cripples them. If you want to do or build something reasonable and or achieve your dream, you have got to build first your self-confidence. Believe in yourself and let others think and say what they want or will. People are entitled to their opinion, how that opinion affects you or not is totally your choice.

You can’t control the thoughts in someone’s head so why worry about it?!
Just be yourself and do your thing – whatever that is. And good luck with that degree you’re chasing.

I am, @wealthymotivatr

Author of “WHO took MY JOB?” – coming soon.

Leave a Reply

