IF I HAD KNOWN WHAT I KNOW NOW…

So I read this article online last night where the writer said ” Some people like Steve Jobs and Bill Gates are destined to be entrepreneurs and nothing will stop them.” When I read that I took a pause to think about it – I mean…me, what I am destined to do? Like every human being is destined for something, right?

I am a proud Nigerian who currently resides in Nigeria(my location is not static – that’s one thing I have in common with “V.” the author of “The Mafia Manager” ) so I brought my thoughts back home to think about some of our own very successful billionaire entrepreneurs. I thought of the Chairman of the Dangote Group – Aliko Dangote, Forbes richest black man worth some 19 or 20 billion dollars. I thought about Folorunsho Alakija, the richest black woman in the world (founder of Famfa Oil) and about Mike Adenuga the Founder of Consolidated Oil (Conoil) and Globacom – Nigeria’s 2nd largest mobile telephone carrier (most of Mike Adenuga’s wealth/asset are privately held if not I believe he could give the industrialist Dangote a run for his money).

I thought about these Nigerian billionaires because following the spirit of that article I read I reasoned these men and woman must have been destined to be entrepreneurs and that’s why nothing has been able to stop them since and I doubt if anything will. Yeah!

Now I had to ask, what am I destined to be?
Well you know the answer to that question…Don’t tell me you don’t know! I have been talking about my destiny since ‘God-knows-how-long’.

Actually the article that inspired this writing stated that the author had started atleast 5 companies and invested about 70,000 dollars in some 30 ventures. Ok.

So I thought what have I done? Not like I was comparing myself with the guy. I don’t do that. But some comparative analysis isn’t out of point my friend says. I have done some 5 or more ‘businesses’ at different times even though I have not yet put in 70,000 dollars in 30 ventures.

But hold on, why haven’t I yet been able to put 70 or more thousand dollars in 30 ventures? Thinking about it I think I have need for speed like Tom Cruise. I need to redeem my times, work smarter, faster and more. My goal is not to put 70,000 in some 30 ventures (that’s no big deal).

I feel as if I had known the much I know now I could have began earlier, stayed on my hustle and done bigger and more successful things…I know most people reason the same way. Or is that we are not just destined to know the right things at the right times? Why do we always have to look back thinking “If I had known what I know now”?

Now one thing that piqued me in the article is the notion that some people are “destined” to be entrepreneurs. That absolutely means some people are not? So some people are destined to be employees for life! I don’t think so. People choose.

Entrepreneurship is a choice. Who makes that choice? YOU. Not your parents, not your environment or some ‘supernatural’ omen. YOU! These other “things” may nudge or inspire you in that direction but becoming or not becoming an entrepreneur is YOUR choice.

I am not Steve Jobs or Bill Gates or Dangote, but I know that with a steadfast vision, passion, determination to not give up, knowledge (the ability to learn and not be bored by the process of learning), confidence and opportunity any person can become a successful entrepreneur like them mentioned above.

But if you feel your “destiny” is not entrepreneurship. You are on your own. Go find out what your destiny is. And once you have found it, put your whole life into it and make sure it shines like a diamond.

Oh, and I know that I am destined to be an entrepreneur and nothing can stop me.

Hahaha…

Yeah, I remember I still have that wine in the cooler…I need to go chill in my pool right now with my gorgeous girlfriend.*

“Juliet sweetheart, pls., come over here…”

Later guys.

* As if I have a girlfriend and a pool in my house.

Stanley G. Jack
MD, Stanley Wallstreet Limited
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Stanley is the author of “Who Took My Job?”(@whotookmyjob) – coming soon!
Follow him on Twitter:@wealthyJACK

Leave a Reply

